Items you will need on your scientific quest Part I

Useful advice from a credible, if a bit odd, source!

postdoc mastery

As with any endeavor, there are specific items that you will want to acquire for your journey as a postdoc.  Many items are likely to be specific to the specialty you have chosen.  It is my goal to share with you those items that I have found to be absolutely CRITICAL and generally universal.

#1.  A role of sturdy tape FullSizeRender-2

Whaaaaaaaat?  Tape?!?  That’s right.  The first item on this list is something you can find anywhere.  It’s not an erlenmeyer flask, a beaker, a bunson burner, or anything that generally denotes “science”.  It’s tape.

Recently, I was putting together the materials for my latest experiment.  I had several fancy-pants components that I was assembling.  Three pieces of equipment that totaled about $50,000.  Plus a bunch of non-reusable parts that racked up another $300 per sample.  What was the only way to get it to all function properly?  Tape.  That’s…

View original post 236 more words

About Excitable Ape

Today is the best day of my life! I am the Artist In Residence of the Chicago Council on Science and Technology. I work as an expert in science communication for Harvard University. Along with my wife, the comics artist Sharon Rosenzweig, I create comics and comic videos for the Annals of Internal Medicine. I express my passion for promoting science literacy by creating science education materials that makes people laugh out loud.
This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

